Stories

Short story# The Filter Glasses

short-story-2

Once upon a time in a land far away there lived a girl named Lisa. She played the piano. With her painting she could bring portraits to life. When she cooked the whole neighbourhood filled with a sweet scent. She had a beautiful and lively smile, a sweet face transparent eyes and a golden heart. She was a lady accomplished in many aspects but not one. She was short, dark, plum and was not considered good-looking at all by others.

She had just a handful of friends and a wonderful family. The other girls and boys did not talk to her or want to be associated with her. She never danced at balls and never went to gatherings if she could avoid it. She spent a substantial part of her days in the isolation of her house being sad about her situation. She had heard the story of Cinderella from the neighbouring land. So every single day and night she eagerly waited for her fairy God mother and her prince charming.

One day while she was painting the image of her prince charming in the confines of her room, she heard a knock on the door. “Come in”, she said. The door opened and before her stood a very old lady. Her face was full of wrinkles. She had a walking stick in one hand and a wand in the other. She was wearing a tiara on her head. She had a very kind , touching and comforting smile. “Who are you?” asked Lisa. “I am your fairy godmother” replied the old lady. “But that can’t be true. You are so old and and …..” words failed Lisa in her state of shock. Fairy Godmother sat beside Lisa , held her hand and said “Fairy godmothers don’t always wear beautiful glittering robes. They are not young and breathtakingly beautiful . My white hair and my wrinkles are the symbol of my wisdom. Remember child, everything that glitters is not gold.”  Failing to understand anything Lisa kept looking at her still in a state of shock.

“I have a gift for you my child” said the fairy god mother. She gifted Lisa a pair of glasses with beautiful frames carved in gold. “Put it on child”, urged the godmother. Lisa put on the glasses and gradually mixed expressions of awe and happiness appeared on her face. Before she realised it, tears started rolling down her eyes.

“What do you see my child?” the godmother asked. ” Godmother I see my life. I see all the days of my life that have gone. But they all are different now.”  “How so?”, the godmother asked.  ” Somehow all the lonely times that I spent in my house have blurred. I only see  amazing times I spent in the palace as the head chef. All those times have gone when other boys and girls used to make fun of me. I only see those moments when I was appreciated as a painter. I see the times when people danced away to my Piano tunes in the parties and balls. Even though I spent a majority of time brooding in my room , I see now that I have spent beautiful and un-forgetful moments with my wonderful family and my lovely friends. ”

Lisa continued to sob for sometime. When her sobbing subsided she asked the godmother again ” how did you do it godmother? How did you make my life so beautiful and worthwhile? These things that I saw, are they real?”

“Yes Lisa. They all are real.”   “But how so?”, asked a now  confused Lisa.  The godmother smiled and started explaining ” I gave you a glass with filters. This filter shows you only the good times of your life. You saw for yourself that all the while you were busy being sad and brooding over things that were out of your control. Instead you could have enjoyed your achievements and your accomplishments and the company of the amazing people around you.”

“But, how could I miss these things godmother?” asked Lisa. “It’s not entirely your fault Lisa.” said the Godmother. ” Many are blinded by the pressures of the superficial. They fail to see beyond the dense fog of all those things that are not in their control. Human beings are caught in the storm of acceptance and fail to realise their inner beauty and skills.”

“Your grief for not being beautiful, or not having many friends, or not having a lover was so much, that you failed to see what you actually were and what you had. You failed to see your accomplishments in your life. You failed to see the love of those people who care for you and want you.” said the godmother soothing Lisa.

” Thank you Godmother for making me understand” Lisa said smiling.

“You are a wonderful girl Lisa.You do not need the acceptance of those people who define a human being only by their appearance and outer beauty. Everything that looks appealing is not necessarily good. You have a golden heart capable of loving immensely and giving in bountiful”

“I promise you godmother, that I will always look at my life the way you taught me” she said while hugging her godmother.

The godmother blessed her and vanished. After she was gone, Lisa removed the canvas of her half-finished prince charming. Instead, she started a fresh painting of herself.

short-story-one

25 thoughts on “Short story# The Filter Glasses

  1. Beautiful story Prajakta!! Really really beautiful. Well done girl.
    Im already looking forward to reading your next. And im not much of a reader, but I really really love your blog entries. Wish you good luck dear 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A wonderful message Prajakta. 🙂
    We all are special in our own ways, but this is normal human tendency to rarely cherish our specialty, and brood over what we wish we had.
    Though we all are lucky like Lisa to have/ meet our god mother in some form or the other. Such are the people who reminds us how to live life with ‘filter-glasses’.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad you liked it 🙂
      True Aditi.. many times in our lives we cross paths with people who remind us to love ourselves and work on ourselves.
      And when the realisation seeps in one can create wonders 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

